How I’ve Been Using Visily So Far

Visily is a powerful application for turning UI mockups into prototypes. I began using it recently and have fallen in love with it.

While there are many ways in which a designer or developer may use Visibly, I will be sharing how I’ve been using Visily so far which is for CSS inspection.

I am a full stack developer, so while I may not struggle with CSS and UI interpretation, sometimes I need some form of prototyping tool to help me whip up ideas quickly and unify my designs or even cross-check others, especially when working on a small team.

I use Visily for inspecting elements pre-built and custom elements to pick up their CSS and help me speed up my element styling.

To do this:

1. Open up an existing mockup or create one from the new projects page: New Project

2. Ensure you are in select mode by clicking the pointer arrowhead at the bottom area of the screen.

3. Click on an element that you want to inspect, then click the </> button on the widget at the top-right side of Visily’s working area. This will expand the widget into a side bar titled CSS Inspection if it isn’t already expanded. Alternatively, you can press Alt + I to pull up this side bar.

4. Expand the CSS section on this sidebar to see the CSS ruleset. You can copy this CSS to your local project. You can even see the image used in the element from the Assets section of the side bar and download it.

Don’t forget, you can edit the CSS of an element by changing font-family, font-style, font-weight, size, etc. from the quick panel that appears when the it is selected in the case of a text element or border-style, opacity, drop-shadow, background-image etc. in the case of a non-text element like a <div>.

Regardless of how you choose to use Visily (and I’m sure there are so many features and lots of functionality to talk about and explore), Visily will prove to be useful in some way if not indispensable to your workflow.

How do you use Visily?